Home Blog CAF Player Shortlist: Moses Loses Out

CAF Player Shortlist: Moses Loses Out


The Confederation of African Football has announced the top three shortlists for the 2017 African Player of the Year with Victor Moses not making the cut. The Super Eagles and Chelsea of England star will not win a first African Footballer of the Year award in 2017, with Aubameyang, Salah and Mane in the running.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane made the cut decided by votes from the members of the Caf Media Committee, Caf Technical & Development Committee and half of the 20-member panel of experts.

Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez won the accolade for 2016 after a sizzling season for the English Premier League side. The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to Caf.

However, Nigeria coach, Gernot Rohr, has been nominated for the award for Caf’s Coach of the Year. The German tactician and Dalian Quanjian forward, Asisat Oshoala, have been nominated for the Caf award along with the country’s men senior national team

The 64-year-old since his appointment as Super Eagles coach has enjoyed a time with the three-time African champions, beating off competition from Cameroon, Algeria and Zambia to qualify for the 2018 Fifa World Cup. Rohr alongside Egypt handler Hector Cuper and Caf Champions League winning coach L’Hussein Amoutta of Wydad Athletic will slug it out for the tacticians’ top honours.

Also, the Super Eagles have been nominated in the best team category after a laudable 2017 as they secured a sixth appearance at next year’s World Cup in Russia. The U20 women’s national side are in the running in the Women’s category.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana. The shortlisted candidates among others include the:

African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)